More goodbyes…

Today was my last day at the archives… After stopping at the post office to mail yet another box to Canada and then at the bank to close my account, I finally got to the archives at about 10 AM. I worked until about 1:30 pm when I just sort of hung out with Quino, Virginia, Paco, Felix, David, Jessica, all the wonderful people I’ve met in the year I’ve spent here. Some are archivists, others are security personnel.

I remember the first day I got to the archives. I felt overwhelmed. I didn’t know the procedure and I wasn’t 100% sure what I wanted to order. After one year, I’ve become more or less like a fellow employee. I’ll miss the random chats I used to have with all the wonderful people I’ve met there… The long chats about Catalan history and culture with Quino, about the neighbourhoods of Barcelona with Virginia, politics with Felix, and of course, about football in general and Barça in particular with the security guards (with whom I bonded during the world cup).

Hasta pronto amigos!!

Quino, Virigina & I:

Quino, Virginia, and I

In the reading room:

Felix making me chocolate flowers:

———–

After having lunch with Naomi at Wushu’s (our last meal there for the next while, sniff), I went out to meet a fellow blogger here in Barcelona. Fernanda is Brazilian, married with a Spaniard and lives here in Barcelona. She’s trying to conciliate a tough MA in Comparative Literature with family life and raising a child. So far she’s been VERY successful and I’m certain she’ll continue to be so. Her little girl is adorable – only 4 years’ old and already able to take a picture of us:

© a cometarista

We had a great time meeting for the first time in person after several exchanges through the web, visiting each other’s blogs. As a parting gift, she bought me a book. Fernanda, MUITO obrigada, viu? E parabéns pela filhota…

4 Responses to “More goodbyes…”


  1. 1 Jen P. April 28, 2007 at 8:33 am

    Oh! Sad that you’re leaving this life behind… but new adventures to come. See you soon!

  2. 3 acomentarista April 30, 2007 at 12:00 am

    poxa, obrigada! Adorei estar contigo! Aprendi muito com vc, com as suas opinioes no meu blog ( muitas contrárias, que me ajudaram a repensar algumas coisas).
    Reparei que vc mudou o template, ficou bonito, mas dá uma peninha…sua “grande aventura pela Espanha” está acabando né…bem, outras virão!!
    Uma excelente viagem pra vc e o seu marido, muito sucesso para os dois!

    beijos

  3. 4 guerson April 30, 2007 at 1:10 am

    Obrigada Fê!! continuarei em contato… lendo seu blog e deixando comentários ;) e quando voltar – sim, voltarei com certeza – te aviso para que nos encontremos outra vez

    Alexandra


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 169,848 hits

Flickr Photos

poutine!! #monkland #foodtruck #poutine #montreal

More Photos
April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Books I’m reading:

The Autobiography Imagined Communities A Fair Country

del.iciou.us

Technorati MacJournal
Alexandra Guerson's Facebook profile
web site analytic

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

