La sardana

As many of you know from Alan's blog, this past weekend we made it to Park Guell for the first time. While the park itsef is very large and very nice, the greatest treat was walking into a Catalan festival and watching dozens of people, young and old, performing the sardana.

La sardana at Park Guell

 This very traditional Catalan dance is performed every week in front of the cathedral in Barcelona and in many festivals by regular people rather than professional performers. I've been wanting to see it since I got here but wasn't sure when and where to go. Watching it with the city of Barcelona as a backdrop was unforgetable!

 

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

15 thoughts on “La sardana”

  1. I didn´t dance but want to! have to find out when exactly they do it in front of the cathedral. It looks like so much fun!!

  2. Cakes are used at both wealthy and even medium class individuals events.
    In a bowl, combine the flours, salt, baking powder and the ground almonds.
    From jungle to barnyard, Winnie-the-pooh, or under the sea,
    you can find a recipe that will delight the soon-to-arrive bundle of joy.

  3. This is necessary so that you can actually settle your financial obligation.
    You need to understand how these Balance Transfer cards work and comprehend how they will influence your financial obligation and credit score.

  4. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve
    read this put up and if I may just I want to suggest you few attention-grabbing things or suggestions.
    Maybe you can write subsequent articles relating to this article.
    I want to read even more issues approximately it!

  5. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or
    something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive
    the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog.

    A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  6. I rarely leave a response, however after looking at
    a few of the responses here La sardana | building bridges.
    I actually do have some questions for you if
    it’s okay. Is it simply me or does it appear like a few of the remarks appear as if they are coming from brain dead folks? :-P And, if you are posting on additional places, I would like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list of all of all your public sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  7. First off I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question that
    I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I have had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Many thanks!

  8. They want to look romantic and they want to have
    a romantic memory. The importance is certainly not based on the value of the metal, or the diamond or the cost of the
    diamond cast on gold or platinum. The colour grade of a
    diamond is determined by looking at it on an angle and is often hard to determine with the naked eye.

  9. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and will come back in the future. I want to encourage continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

Leave a Reply

