A Brazilian in Barcelona

An old friend of my dad’s has a daughter who’s in Porto (Portugal) for a couple of months. She emailed me a couple of weeks ago to ask for hotel recommendations in Barcelona. I offered our humble abode and she arrived last Friday for the weekend.

Melissa is a doctor doing residency in pathology and we hit it off right away. She’s adventuresome, likes trying different foods and has travelled every weekend of the past month to make the most out of her short stint in Portugal. Since she was in Barcelona for only two days, I recommended she take the Bus Turistic. On saturday she visited Passeig de Gracia (La Pedrera, Casa Batló), Las Ramblas, Barri Gotic, the beach, Port Olimpic, and Montjuic. On Sunday I walked over with her to the Sagrada Familia and Hospital Sant Pau.

Alan and I walked by Gaudi’s masterpiece more than once but this was the first time I took some time to look at all the details. I realized the carvings on the two sides of the church have to do with the life of Christ. The older side (detail above) has scenes from his life, the newer side have the details of the passion of Christ, with scenes devoted to his trial, death and ressurrection. It was fascinating. Next time I go by I’ll get some pictures of the other side for you.

At Hospital Sant Pau (about which both Alan and I have talked before), we looked for the Pathology lab. Unfortunately, it was closed.

On Saturday night we went to our first big party in Barcelona. It was our friend N’s 30th birthday party and the party represented Barcelona – it was held in a beautiful apartment in the old town, with high celings, colourful walls, and tiled floors, the guests were from all over the world and the food was amazing. I don’t have photos but it was nice that Melissa had such an ideal Barcelonian experience in her two days here.

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

2 thoughts on “A Brazilian in Barcelona”

  1. Hola! Faço Pilates no Miscelanea (http://www.miscelanea.info) que é um centro de artes muito legal. O curso é soh de 6 semanas, então vou ter que encontrar outro depois que terminar… Onde é esse em Enric Granados?
    O Sushi fica aqui ao lado da galeria, depois encontro o endereço exato. Mas passe, sim, visitar a gente quando puder. Os arquivos, se não me engano, ficam aqui ao lado…
    Beijão, Bruna

Leave a Reply

