Boqueria

Today we went to the Mercado de la Boqueria for the first time. We have been here for 8 months now and still hadn’t been. I knew it was amazing and I wanted to save it to a day when there wouldnt be so many tourists around. Today we went with Sebastian to shop for tomorrow’s book club chinese lunch (more on that later). All I can say is WOW. The place is amazing! The market of my dreams. They have e.v.e.r.y.t.h.i.n.g. I love markets. I love the energy and vibrancy of popular markets and we try to go to the local one in Gracia at least once a week. But the Boqueria is something else… Since I shoot with a film camera, you’ll have to wait a few days for the pictures…

Here are some pictures from their internet site:

Vegetable stalls

Mushrooms anyone?

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

3 thoughts on “Boqueria”

  1. I just discovered your european adventure today! It’s been interesting to see your impressions about my country, Catalonia. Hope you enjoy your stay with us! Bets regards, Gemma.

  2. Oh! One of my favorite, favorite places on earth! And always my first (and a daily) stop in Barcelona. Can’t believe you held out this long!

    Sigh, I always go hungry and graze. I never have taken a good photo there; thanks for these. Who knew they had a website!

  3. Gemma,
    thanks for the warm welcome! I really love Catalonia and I’ll be sad to have to leave…

    Erin,
    I know… I’m ashamed of myself… To tell you the truth, in the summer I just avoided the old town altogether. It was too hot, there were too many people and tourists. So we focused on exploring the beaches and parks outside the city or our own neighbourhood. Before we realized, we had been here for all this time and I still hadn’t been to the Boqueria! I can see why it’s one of your favourite places on earth. It’s FANTASTIC!!!

    Anyways, like I said, my photos are still to come…

Leave a Reply

