Five things you might not know about me

Following the leads of JP and AN, here’s my list

1. I was a dog-freak as a child and have probably watched every Lassie, Rin tin tin, & Benjie movies out there. It took me until I was 17 to convince my mother that we should get a dog.

2. I didn’t go to kindergarden. My older brother taught me to read and write while he was attending kindergarden – each day he would teach me everything he learned at school that day and by the end of the year we both knew how to read and write. He was 6 and I was 4.

3. I used to be addicted to comic books. I had a huge collection of marvel & dc comics and was on a first-name basis with every comics shop in Rio. I quit cold-turkey when I moved to Canada and started my history degree. My favourite was The Sandman by Neil Gaiman. The man is brilliant. Alan Moore is another genius of the craft…

4. I’ve read the Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley about 6 times. It was the first “grown-up” book I read. I used to be a lazy reader and wouldn’t read anything over 100 pages so my brother tricked me by giving me just the first volume of the book (in Brazil it was published in a multi-volume set of 4 books, each with over 200 pages) and betting I wouldn’t go beyond the first chapter. I was 12 and I don’t think I really understood the first chapter but had to prove my brother wrong. By chapter three I was hooked and read the remaining three volumes compulsively. When I finished the last page, I re-started again from the beginning. I became obsessed with England and its monarchy. How I ended up studying the Jews of medieval Iberia is still a mystery to me. I think my undergrad supervisor hypnotized me.

5. I lived in the Amazon when I was a child. We lived outside the city and my brother and I used to disappear in the jungle (I was 3, he was 5). Don’t know what I was thinking; I have a phobia of snakes.

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

2 thoughts on “Five things you might not know about me”

  1. landismom,
    somehow, it doesn’t surprise me that you like Neil Gaiman. A friend and I went to a special event with him in Toronto – he was releasing Anansi Boys – and found out he’s as good a public speaker as he is a writer ;)

    As for the Mists of Avalon – it was 4 volumes, I swear!! I still get upset at what happens to Viviane and despite having read many versions of the Arthurian tales since then, to me Morgana will always be good ;)

Leave a Reply

