Festes de Santa Eulália, Photos pt 1

As promised, here are some of the pictures I took last weekend during the Festes de Santa Eulália. As I mentioned before, the festival was dedicated to children and they were out in great numbers and dressed in various costumes:

Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge

Lining up

This little girl posed for me. When her parents saw me pointing my camera at her they told her “mira la nena!” and they kindly moved out of the frame. Isn’t she the cutest little princess? But try as I might the kid on the right would not look at me…

Little Princess Catalan diversity

These guys were cute too and were getting ready to perform:

Fooling around

Little girl meeting the big head

Cute little girls watching the shows:

 

girls dancing

people watching

And now for the cutest thing I saw all day:

splashing

A backpacker went through the square just before and splashed his face at the fountain. This little girl, who was probably no older than 2, stood at the very tips of her feet, wet her hands and tried to immitate the backpacker. It was tooo cute!

You can see lots more pictures of the festival here. It includes some pictures of previous festivals, but I’m sure you won’t mind!

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

4 thoughts on “Festes de Santa Eulália, Photos pt 1”

  1. A cultura catalã é realmente muito rica em tradições populares. Todo feriado tem suas tradições e toda festa tem mil e um apresentações de danças típicas com músicas tipicas. Adoraria saber mais.

Leave a Reply

