New Camper shoes!

When I got to Spain, a friend of mine in Canada mentioned I should look for Camper shoes. “They are amazing!” she said. Unlike many women, I’m not into shoe-shopping that much. It’s not that I don’t like shoes – I love them – it’s just that my mother was always like Imelda Marcos and since we wear the same size, I’ve always just borrowed her shoes. It wasn’t until I immigrated to Canada that I discovered that I actually only possessed two pair of shoes! I’ve bought some since then but somehow the habit is just not there.

Anyways, I checked out those camper shoes sometime back in the summer and I fell in love. They are so much fun!! Here’s the pair I bought back in the summer:

My first camper shoes!

The original Camper Store hails from Mallorca and in 1981 the first branch in Barcelona was inaugurated. Since 1992 it has spread around the world and they have become quite popular lately.

I wanted to get a pair of boots and couldn’t decide between two. So Alan offered to get me one pair as an advance birthday gift and I got myself the other one. Here they are:

Cute boots

Back Boots Alan gave me

The soles are what really marks a pair of Camper shoes:

soles 1 soles 2

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

11 thoughts on “New Camper shoes!”

  1. I’m sooo jealous!! I love shoes, especially the Camper ones which I can’t get in El Paso (and they are so expensive in Toronto). I’m hoping to buy some when I go to Spain this summer.

  2. That was part of the reason why I decided to get both… I know they cost twice the price in Toronto. They were on sale (gotta love the rebajas!) and I got a really good deal. Plus, they are SOOO comfortable!

  3. Alexandra,

    Eu tb nao sou muito de comprar sapatos. Geralmente quando tem um par que eu gosto uso ate acabar. Adoro sapatos velhos porque sao mais confortaveis. :-)
    Adorei esses sapatos. Eles sao elegantes mas com senso de humor. So comecei a usar botas no ano passado, gracas a minha filha de sete anos que adora botas de ano longo. Agora eu tb estou gostando. Tenho uma preta parecida com essa sua. Adoraria ter uma marrom tb. Enfim, achei os sapatos lindos!

    Bjs.

    Regina

  4. Regina,
    Eu também sou assim!! aqui eu tenho alternado entre dois pares (a sapatilha camper acima e um tenis de couro da merrell que é super boitinho e confortavel. Os últimos dois verãos (verões?) no Canada eu passei usando o meu All Star Converse vermelho, cano curto, até acabar. Fiquei triste de deixar ele pra tras…

    Bjos
    Alexandra

  5. Alexandra e Regina, somos exceções! eu detesto comprar sapatos. Salto alto dói minha perna e nunca usei. Agora com a fibromialgia piorou, meus pés ficaram bem sensíveis, aí assumi minha porção “não dou a mínima pra sapatos” e só uso os que são super confortáveis mesmo.

    Tenho uma bota que tem uns 8 anos, velhinha, rasgada (só dá pra usar de calça comprida pra não ver um pedaço caindo hehehe) mas ela é maravilhosa. Na prática, uso quase sempre essa bota no inverno e e uma sandália velhinha, no verão.

    Agora, comprei uma bota maravilhosa que custa 350 dolares mas tava por 50 na promoção, Ela é toda forradinha por dentro com uma coisa bem peluda, parece que estou descalça, pisando num tapete, maravilhosa e vai até o joelho, bem quentinha… mas ela é muito grande, acho que não vai ocupar o espaço da minha botinha velha, não.

    Enfim, adorei essas daí, vou ficar de olho quando for pela Europa :-)

    Beijocas!

  6. No Canadá tem uma sapataria dessas cadeias mais barateiras chamada Payless. Talvez tenha aí nos EUA também… Em todo caso, uma vez eles tiveram uma promoção 2×1 e uma amiga minha perguntou se eu não queria ir, assim cada uma comprava um sapato e dividíamos a promoção. Vcs acredita que eu experimentei TODOS os sapatos que tinha do meu tamanho e não encontrei NENHUM que não machucasse meu pé?? É por isso que eu ODEIO comprar sapato… Pior do que comprar sapato pra mim é comprar calça comprida….

  7. Hello Friend!!!
    My name is Raquel D’Abreu Padulla.
    I loved your history about your Camper shoes!!!
    I’m brazilian, but here, have only one store. Your shoe is very beautiful. Here a Camper shoes is very expensive, I want a lot to buy a shoes, but here the price is 250$ to 1000$. It’s very very very expensive.
    Is good have a Camper shoes?
    Thanks.

  8. Hello,
    I am from Bulgaria and I am crazy about Camper. Unfortunately they are expensive all over the world, but there is always sales.
    The problem for me is that the camper shoes for kids are even greater. And I have two.
    But the most I like those shoe that are different.

Leave a Reply

