The Raval

On the post below, my friend Regina asked whether the Raval is in Barcelona or if it’s another town. So here’s a little history of this neighbourhood west of the Ramblas.

Map of Old Town

The red line on the map shows the outlines of the old Roman & medieval town of Barcelona. To the left is the Raval and to the right is the trendy area known as the Born. In 1800 most of the Raval was made of small farms located just outside the town walls and a few buildings that go back to the Middle Ages like the hospital on C/ del Carme – which now houses an art school, the Biblioteca de Catalunya, the Institute of Catalan Studies, and a medical school – and the Royal Shipyards on the southern part of the neighbourhood, near the water. Map

With the nineteenth-century industrial revolution, many textile plants were opened in the area and the immigrants poured in from around the world. The Raval quickly became known as Barrio Chino in reference to the problematic parts of San Francisco’s Chinatown. The neighbourhood was very seedy, dirty and densely populated, making it a prime spot for many epidemics during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Drugs and prostitution characterized what was then known as the darkest side of Barcelona.

Like most parts of Barcelona, the 1992 Summer Olympics had a great impact on the area. The police cracked down and dismantled the drug rings and cleaned the neighbourhood of its prostitutes (a few sites still survive) and the area has been gentrified greatly in the past decade. It’s still rough around the edges and remains the area of Barcelona with the largest proportion of immigrants, particularly from Pakistan, North Africa & the Philipines. 80% of children at the local school are immigrants.
© Nancy Johnson, http://www.masterperiodismo.fbg.ub.es

Maybe that’s why it reminds me so much of Toronto’s Kensington Market, which is also a neighbourhood created by many waves of immigrants and despite recent attempts to gentrify it, it continues to have a character and style all of its own. That’s sort of what attracts me to the Raval. There’s an energy in the air that is unique to the place. If one looks past the seedy streets with its graffiti and suspicious stairwells, one sees that this is perhaps the one neighbourhood in Barcelona where children still play unsupervised on the streets. “Este és otro mundo” (this is another world), says Nuria Aparecido, of the Fundación Tot Raval, a neighbourhood organization. I can’t wait to be part of it, even if it’s just for two months…

————-

De la historia del Raval a la historia del mundo – the outline of a very interesting project assigned to a grade 6 class of a school in the Raval. The objective is to learn a little bit more about the history of the world by discovering the history of the Raval

Fundació Tot Raval

Short history of the area (in Spanish)

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

5 thoughts on “The Raval”

  1. Que lindo! Bia sonha em morar em Barcelona, eu adoro também. Mas também adorei o Kensington Market, você já viu as fotos que fiz de lá? nada demais, mas é tudo tão fotogênico!

    Não entendi uma coisa, você tá voltando pra o Canadá?

    E sobre a visita de vocês à Washington, achei ÓTIMO!!! até mostrei o seu blog pra ted, comentei que vocês devem estar vindo por aqui e ele também adorou a idéia de conhecer vocês :-)

    Quanto ao Oscar, espero você amanhã, hein?!

  2. Ah… deixa contar minha história de Barcelona. Fui lá em 87, com meu ex-marido e meu irmão. No primeiro dia, andei pelas ramplas, visitei a catedral de Gaudi (que parece uma vela derretida). à noite tive uma crise de rins, fui parar no hospital, queriam me operar lá mesmo, tive que voltar correndo pro Brasil pra retirar uma pedra enorme dos rins. Quase morro de tristeza, não vi o Parque Gaudi e muita coisa mais, ainda preciso voltar.

    E nunca vou esquecer do hospital, um baruilho imenso, no domindo parecia uma feira com muita gente falando, visitando os familiares… à noite eu não conseguia dormir com a velhinha ao meu lado gritando “Carmen!!! dá-me la ‘cuña’ Carmén”… hehehehe… (nem idéia se a palavra era essa, mas era algo do tipo)… era um verdadeiro filme de Almodovar.

  3. Kensington Market é a minha parte favorita de Toronto. Eu e o Alan íamos todos os sábados. No início íamos para comprar frutas e verduras, que eram mais baratas lá. Depois descobrimos o Louie’s – uma cafeteriazinha minúscula numa esquina bem movimentada de Kensington onde dá para sentar em um banco no lado de fora no verão e num balcão olhando a rua do lado de dentro no inverno. Servem o melhor café que eu já bebi no Canada, pelo melhor preço. Então passamos a ir mesmo quando não tínhamos que fazer compras, só para tomar um café e bater papo com o pessoal. Para mim Kensington representa o que o Canada tem de melhor: várias culturas convivendo em harmonia…

    pois é Denise… nossa estadia aqui em Barcelona está chegando ao fim. O plano era ficar só um ano mesmo – eu vim fazer pesquisa pra minha tese de doutorado. Chegamos no início de abril do ano passado e voltamos pra Toronto em maio desse ano. 13 meses inesquecíveis e muitos amigos que esperamos venham nos visitar no Canada.

    Uma pena que a sua estadia aqui em Barcelona tenha sido tão curta e tão sofrida. Mesmo que vc tenha podido ver muita coisa então, a cidade mudou MUITO desde 1987 (que era pré-olimpiada). Vale mesmo a pena vir e passar no mínimo uma semana…

    Será um prazer imenso conhecer vc e o Ted!!

    hasta mañana!!!

    PS: se a Bia puder passar uma temporada aqui um dia, recomendo muito. A cidade é ótima para jovens criativos. Tem uma energia que me lembra muito o Rio de Janeiro…

  4. Oi Alexandra, acabei de te enviar um e-mail perguntando se voce era de Toronto. Vim ate o blog conhecer seu espaco e encontrei a resposta :)

    Tudo de bom, parabens, e uma otima mudanca.

    Beijo

  5. O Raval…acho que é mesmo o bairro mais imigrante de Barcelona.

    Couve. O único lugar que encontrei couve como a brasileira é na Calle Jacinto Verdaguer, em Santa Eulália, Hospitalet, metro linea 5, roja, num mercado chinês. A rua é curta, é fácil encontrar.

    beijos

Leave a Reply

