Do you want to make a difference?

Through Erin’s blog, I came across this wonderful non-profit organization called Kiva, which connects people like you or I, with as little as 25$ to spend, and small business in poor countries in need of a loan. Erin had spoken many times about Kiva, and the press have also covered them frequently. I also read a blog of two interns at Kiva who go to Africa to follow up locally how the business are using the money.Kiva.org

Inspired by all of that, I decided to also invest on some of these businesses. I don’t have much money but I figured that if I can spend 65 euros for one night at a hotel, I can loan 25$ to help a woman somewhere get her business off the ground and guarantee a good life for her family. So I decided to start with a 100$, which I split between four businesses, all owned by women:

Tolotea Siaki is a seamstress in Samoa, N’Défa Adry owns a clothing store in Togo, Massan Djitri is a mother of six who owns a grocery store in Togo, and Maria del Socorro Aguirre has had a grocery store in Nicaragua for the past ten years and is looking into expanding her business.

They have 12-18 months to repay their loan. Once they do I’m given the choice to get my money back or simply reinvest in other businesses.

I hope to see these women able to tell stories like this one before the end of the year…

Feeling like investing in someone’s business and making a difference in someone’s life? Check Kiva out.

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

2 thoughts on “Do you want to make a difference?”

Leave a Reply

