Kinda scary, actually

I first created this blog, about 13 months ago, mainly to keep in touch with family and friends, and to post pictures and stories of our year in Barcelona. I had a choice or password-protecting the blog but decided not to. There would always be a friend or family member who lost the passport and couldn’t get in and I would have to administer the blog more closely to make sure everybody I know had the access code. Since I didn’t have anything to hide, I decided to leave it open. For the most part everything has worked fine. WordPress does a fine job in filtering spam and I’ve got to meet some amazing people in the blogosphere. Since the blog doesn’t attract that many people – a maximum of 213 per day so far – I never thought it would attract the attention of the media. Well, now I have to think again. Remember this post? Well, these guys read it too:

Radio canada banner

Radio Canada Text

Wow… freaky really… five people have visited the blog from that news report page. If you are one of them, welcome to this very random, idiosyncratic blog!

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

10 thoughts on “Kinda scary, actually”

  1. Eu acho ao mesmo tempo engraçado a visao quebequense e nacionalista da coisa : “uma imigrante brasileira”… Não pensaram em dizer, uma canadense ou neo-canadense…coisas do Québec. Beijos.

  2. Oi Alexandra,

    In the U.S. they would probably refer to you as a Brazilian-American. I actually grew to like the hyphenated identity because it honors both. As opposed to what a friend of your said once, I don’t see this hyphenated term in a negative light.

    Bom, parabens! O seu blog e’ realmente interessante e muito bem escrito. A gente nunca sabe quem acaba chegando nesses blogs, nao?

    E ai, e os preparativos para a mudanca, como vao?

    Beijocas,

    Regina

  3. OI Regina,

    Bom, vou dizer em ingles para que outras pessoas possam ler essa parte:
    What Ana Lucia said has a very Canadian context. Canada embraces and supports difference – hundreds of thousands of dollars are given out by the government every year to fund ethnic institutions such as special schools immigrant kids can attend on saturdays where they learn & preserve their own language & culture. At the same time that they support difference, they really don’t label you that much. The hyphenated variant is often self-imposed. People do call themselves Italian-Canadian or simply Italian but for the Canadians, once you become Canadian, you are simply Canadian. They might say Canadian of Brazilian origin. That’s not meant at all as a means of disregarding your background; it’s meant to be inclusive and less segregating. Quebec has its own way of dealing with difference and with immigration though. I got a lot of support from the Quebec government but there’s still the lingering feeling in Quebec that the only reason they didn’t win independence in the 1995 referendum was because of the Immigrant vote. Since then they’ve worked much harder to make immigrants more quebecois than canadian. I love Quebec, my husband is from there, but even he admits Quebec is a little less inclusive than the rest of Canada… The idea of purity – be it of language or background – still resonates there…

    Pois é, os preparativos andam corridos. Tenho que enviar umas caixas para Toronto essa semana, concluir o trabalho no arquivo, ir em um milhao de almoços e jantares de despedida (mmmm, até que essa parte não é ruim)… eeeeeeek

    Ana Lucia e Regina,

    Obrigada pela visita!!

    Alexandra

  4. Most of the time, I refer to myself as Canadian of Irish descent. I’m only second generation Canadian on my mom’s side.

    That is so cool though that so many people have visited your blog! I thought of making ours non-password protected but I really didn’t want any of my students stumbling across it. I feel a bit freer with the comments I make there because only people I know have access to it.

  5. Entao na sexta, às 6, na Praça Catalunha, em frente à Fnac? Pra mim é um ponto legal, porque estaciono fácil no estacionamento do Corte Ingles. Se estiver ruim pra vc, me fala,

    beijos!! até!!

  6. Dana,

    That’s what I mean… the divisions in Canada are more related to language than nationality. You might be english-canadian or french-canadian… but if you are a second-generation Canadian or Indian background, you would still be considered a Canadian. As opposed to in the States where you’d always be a Mexican-American as opposed to a full american…

    Yeah, I’d probably not be able to really talk about my students in my history blog. Right now that’s open… maybe I’ll close it and send the access out to friends… we’ll see… I have friends who do – talk about their students – but they use pseudonyms in their blog…

  7. It’s interesting living in El Paso where somewhere around 80% of the population is Hispanic. Many of my students refer to themselves as American and then I ask them about their families, and many of their parents are from Mexico (or other Latin American countries). So I think it depends on who you are talking to. My students also told me they don’t like “Hispanic”. Some prefer Chicano, or some Latino. Some do prefer to be called “Mexican-American” but then again, not all of them are of Mexican ancestry.

  8. Querida, achei o máximo! :-)

    Estava com saudades e imaginando que você estava nos últimos momentos por aí e eu lá em Chiapas também mais do que atarefada, mas agora vou voltando aos pouquinhos (ainda estupidamente cansada, tudo beeeeeeeeem devagarinho). Beijos e bom final de estadia por aí.

Leave a Reply

