Testing…

First shots with the Nikon D80…

Plant

Flower

Drops

The weather wasn’t good and I didn’t have much to shoot but these didn’t turn out too bad. I’m still trying to figure out the depth of field since the telephoto lens behaves a little different from the normal lens I had on my film SLR… I know this sounds like impossible jargon for most of you, but I promise that when I’m settled into our new place and we start going out for photo shoots, I’ll explain a little better what all these technical terms mean… Meanwhile, if you speak Portuguese, check out this blog.

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

6 thoughts on “Testing…”

  1. There is nothing like a good bokeh…The second picture…is so beautiful…and it´s only a test..I can´t wait to see the photo shoots with this camera…in toronto.

  2. My film SLR had beautiful bokeh – for the non-technical people is the out of focus area in the image. I had a very nice and trusty 50mm f1.4 lens and I just loved the depth of field in it…

    I have a similar lens on the Nikon – 50mm f1.8 – but it is technically different because on a digital camera it is more like a 75mm lens, which is more on the telephoto end. In other words, things appear a little closer than they actually are and I have a narrower depth of field. Also, the minimal focus distance seems to be higher than what I had on my film SLR. I didn’t have macro in it but I could get very close to objects; on this camera I need to be a little further. Which is not that big a problem since I can always crop quite a bit afterwards…

    I’ll write my impressions as I try new things…

Leave a Reply

