Food pictures

I love food. I wouldn’t pay $200 on a pair of shoes or some fancy perfume but I would happily pay that much for a gourmet meal. As Alan would say, good food is very important to me and because I like eating nice food, prepared with fresh ingredients, I also like to cook.

Tonight was our first real meal in our new place and I wanted to prepare something light but tasty. The two dishes I prepared were firsts for me but I was quite happy with how they turned out. Here’s what we had:

Fennel salad with tomatoes, red peppers & parsley

This one I created myself and it turned out very refreshing. A great summer salad!

Fennel salad

The main course was taken out from the book Eating for Better Health, by Jane Plant & Gill Tidey.

Spaghetti with Rocket* and Cherry Tomatoes

I was afraid the combination of arugula (rocket/rucula) and basil would be too strong but no, it was perfect! Very fragrant and light. A huge success. I think I’ll add some pine nuts next time for variation.

Rocket salad

*Rocket is called arugula in Canada. I used baby arugula leaves.

I’ll post the recipes in the comments, in case anyone is interested.

Since the title of the post is food pictures, I’ll add here a couple shots I took at a recent excursion to a local Tibetan restaurant, where I had Tibetan lamb curry (first picture) and was intrigued by the local steamed bread (picture two).

Curry

bread

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

4 thoughts on “Food pictures”

  1. Fennel salad

    1 fennel bulb
    1 cup flat-leaf parsley, chopped
    1/2 red pepper, chopped in thin strips
    1 tomato, chopped
    Juice of 1 lemon
    olive oil to taste (about 1-2 tbsp)
    salt & pepper

    Cut the fennel bulb in half and remove the tough bit on the bottom. Chop thinly. Mix fennel, tomato, red pepper & parsley. Season with lemon juice, olive oil, salt & pepper

    Spaghetti with Rocket & Cherry Tomato

    400g dry spaghetti
    4 tbsp olive oil
    4 garlic cloves, sliced
    1 large red chilli
    250g cherry tomatoes, halved
    10-12 spring onions, sliced
    6 sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
    2 cups rocket/arugula leaves
    1 cup basil leaves, chopped

    1. Cook the pasta in plenty of boiling water according to the instructions on the packet
    2. Heat 2 tbsp of the olive oil in a frying pan and sauté da garlic & chilli for 1 minute, then add the cherry tomatoes and continue to sauté for another minute.
    3. Add the spring onions & sun-dried tomatoes, stir through and sauté for another 2-3 minutes
    4. Take the pan off the heat, stir through the rocket and basil and pour over the extra olive oil
    5. Divide the pasta among the serving bowls and top with the tomato sauce.

    [note: I didn’t have red chillies so I replaced 1 tbsp of olive oil with 1 tbsp of olive oil with hot pepper. The chili pepper in the recipe is not only for extra flavour but also for extra boost in the health benefits of this dish. Spicy peppers have been found to have very strong anti-carcinogen properties and also speeds up one’s metabolism. This recipe should be good for 4 people but since I didn’t really want any pasta leftover, I made 1/3 of a 500g package of spaghetti (which is enough for two) and saved the extra sauce for some fresh pasta tomorrow]

  2. Wow! Loved the two first pictures and recipes!! Thank you for sharing! And the steamed bread looks just delicious! You and I have just talked about food at around the same time, hehe, that shows how much we like eating. We’re vegetarians at home so I’ll skip the lamb, but I’m definitely giving the husband your other recipes (he’s the one who cooks). Cheers!

  3. Hi Andréa!

    I thought of you when I was posting these recipes; I knew you would like them! I also enjoy reading your recipes, in your blog… I still need to try your pancakes…

Leave a Reply

