Busy weekend ahead

The weekend is promising – we want to check out at least two festivals: The Taste of Little Italy and the Blues Fest at the Distillery District. But first, we head out to Kensington Market and the best coffee in the city…

Here’s where I go, from the Toronto Life magazine:

Casa Acoreana
Louie Pavao founded this corner spot as a fruit stand 41 years ago; his four sons (Victor, John, Ozzie and Mike) now preside over the café and bulk shop with familial pride. More shack than shop, it serves up the perfect latte (potent and smooth); and with hundreds of different kinds of tea, coffee and spice filling pretty glass jars, the old-fashioned general store pops with colour. A dreamscape for the candy cognoscenti, Acoreana rescues many classics (Tunnock’s Snowballs, Thrills gum) from extinction.
235 Augusta Ave., 416-593-9717.

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

4 thoughts on “Busy weekend ahead”

  1. Hey, this sounds so cool! The Taste of Little Italy reminds me of the two years I lived in that part of town… But the Blues Festival I hadn’t heard of before: Can I go with you?

  2. com certeza as cores da jpg estao melhores- mas o melhor seria ve-las lado a lado.
    na verdade a diferenca fica mais intensa quando a imagem é impressa o visualizada em uma interface mais precisa.

  3. Bianca
    Obrigada pela opinião! Coloquei as imagens lado a lado agora para ver se as diferenças ficam mais obvias… Eu ainda não decidi… talvez eu continue usando o RAW para aprender a mexer mais com processamento. Confesso que não sou muito técnica… Acho que muitas das minhas fotos que ficam boas mesmo são produtos da sorte, pois eu nunca reparo muuuito na parte técnica (além de coisa básica como a velocidade do filme, abertura e shutter). O Alan é bem mais técnico do que eu, ele passa dias trabalhando uma imagem….

    Nas fotos que eu tirava na maquina de filme, eu não fazia quase nada. Eu mandava o laboratorio revelar e colocar em um CD, escolhia as que eu gostava e colocava no Flickr. Não mexia em nada… Agora tenho investido mais tempo… Vamos ver no que dá…

Leave a Reply

