Update

We got our iMac and my iPod yesterday. More on that later… all I can say is… Holy cow, the screen is HUGE! I guess 24 inches was a bit of an overkill, but hey, we do lots of graphic work…

On another note, I’ve discovered I really can’t do much academic work at home. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s the messiness of all the moving boxes that distract me, all I know is that I’ve been procrastinating writing a report about my research for the past two weeks. I finally decided to go out to the local coffee shop and write there. In one hour I had written two reports and a newsletter blurb! This morning I came to the library and in a  couple of hours I typed my reports, edited them, sent emails to my committee, fellow conference-organizer JP, the administrator of CRRS about a possible fellowship, and my department about a misplaced tax form… Suddenly, after a month and a half in limbo, I feel productive again!!

Hope the feeling lasts because I just received notice that my abstract was accepted for an international conference in Chicago next April. It will be my first big conference and I’m not even sure my paper is do-able… Hope so…

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

7 thoughts on “Update”

  1. Alexandra,

    sempre fui péssima para estudar e escrever em casa, Rendo muito mais em bibliotecas.

    Parabéns pela conferência, tenho certeza que dará tudo certo. Você pode adiantar o tema? Se não puder, tudo bem. :)

    Bjs

  2. Raquel,

    Na graduação eu trabalhava em casa direitinho, no doutorado, desde que consegui minha salinha na biblioteca (o que chamamos de carrel), nunca mais consegui trabalhar em casa…

    Quanto ao tema do meu trabalho pra conferencia, o título é: “Looking for an heir: Jewish bigamy and the royal courts in the late fourteenth-century Crown of Aragon”. Eu básicamente exploro a maneira como os judeus da catalunya e aragón usavam as cortes reais para obter licenças para arrumar uma segunda esposa, uma prática proibida pelo mundo cristão e, se não expressamente proibida, ao menos desaconselhada pelas autoridades judias da época.

    Vamos ver no que vai dar….

  3. Exato… o interessante aqui é que apesar de as leis judaicas permitirem o divórcio em casos de infertilidade, esses judeus preferiam simplesmente adquirir uma segunda esposa sem divorciar da primeira.

Leave a Reply

