I love Harry…

It was the summer of 2002 and, like many people, I was very wary and tired of the whole Harry Potter hype. And that’s what I thought it was: simply unsubstantiated hype. Some intelligent friends and even a professor suggested I lay down my prejudices and give the books a shot. Well, it was summer, seemed like an easy read, and I needed to read the books to be able to prove to people that it was all about clever marketing…HP Collection

But I wasn’t willing to invest money on it, of course. At the time, there were four books out: HP and the Philosopher’s Stone, HP and the Chamber of Secrets, HP and the Prisoner of Azkaban, and HP and the Goblet of Fire. I checked them all out of my local public library.

Fifty pages into the first book, I became mildly disappointed and curious. This is just standard child lit, what’s the hype?? One hundred pages into it and I was completely hooked. I finished that book in the evening and started the next book the next morning. I consumed it in about 2-3 hours and read the third book that afternoon. The fourth book took a little longer – two days – since it had a whopping 636 pages (!).

I have to say. They are indeed brilliant. There’s classical western mythology, Arthurian drama, Dickensonian plots & characters, with just the right dosage of a Star Wars feel. There are so many layers to it, the plots are so smart, that it makes it readable for any age group. J. K. Rowling’s success is very much deserved.

Of course, I have since acquired all the books. You see them on the picture above. I’ve also started a neat travel collection. I decided to buy different translations of HP and the Philosopher’s Stone in different countries. So far, I have 3: Canadian English (there are also English and American editions), Catalan, and Latin. Apparently there are over 60 translations. Now you know what to get me for Christmas…

HP 1 Collection

The next – and final book – is supposed to come out on July 21st. I’ve now started re-reading all the other books (six of them) to prepare for it. The big question is: Will Harry die?

Update: Just got this email from the store I ordered my HP from…: “Saturday, July 21st is almost here – the official release date for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. This early shipping confirmation is to let you know, that in preparation for the July 21st delivery, your Harry Potter pre-order, OR17929515 is packed and ready for pickup by Canada Post! We’ve partnered with Canada Post to ensure your book is delivered to you on Saturday July 21st, the day of release! ” It’s getting close now!! 

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

9 thoughts on “I love Harry…”

  1. Alexandra,
    atualmente tô relendo Half-blood prince também!
    Só uma curiosidade: de que documentos eu preciso pra poder pegar livros na biblioteca aí em Toronto? Eu não sou residente permanente(não vou ser, eu chego em 2 semanas :))
    E, pra mim, desde que bem contado, tanto faz o Harry morrer ou não. O que eu não aceito é o Snape estar do lado de Você-sabe-quem! Não entra a minha cabeça o Dumbledore ter cometido um erro de julgamento e, muito menos, não ter se corrigido durante tanto tempo!
    Francisco

  2. Bem,
    só corrigindo: eu errei na formatação e queria só o “desde que bem contado” em itálico…
    Além disso, acabei de receber o endereço da minha homestay em Toronto e graças ao googlemaps, ja sei vi foto de onde vou morar e achei a biblioteca mais perto da minha casa…
    Mas valeu por ter dado minha opinião sobre o Snape, pelo menos… rsrs
    Só de curiosidade: o que você acha dele, Alexandra?
    Francisco

  3. Francisco,

    Concordo plenamente. O Snape como vilão é muito óbvio e nós aprendemos que nada é muito óbvio nesses livros. Também não acredito que o Dumbledore faria um erro de julgamento… acho que tem muito mais sobre o Snape que não sabemos…

    Sobre a biblioteca… eu acho que vc tem que ser residente para poder se afiliar. Mais informações aqui: http://www.torontopubliclibrary.ca/abo_index.jsp

    Um abraço!

  4. I’ve spent waaay too much time worrying about how I’m going to get through the final Harry Potter unspoiled. We’re going to France on the 20th, and I’m worried that I won’t be able to buy an English-language version in the airport. (I know, we should all have such problems.) I’ll pick you up a French version, if I see it!

  5. thanks landismom!! that’s very nice of you!! I remember you talking about your “dilemma” in your blog a little while ago and how people were trying to scheme something such as fedexing you a copy as fast as possible… have you figured it out yet? Will you be in Paris? Maybe they’ll sell it in English bookstores there?

  6. landismom,
    even here in brazil people will be able to buy copies in english, i just don’t know if they’ll be able to on the 21st or only on the 22nd-23rd…
    u should have a problem getting one in english in paris, then…

  7. Yes, we’re not going to be in Paris, but my dh found an English-language bookstore in Marseilles, so I think my problem is solved. Thanks for the suggestions, everyone. And Alexandra–I’ll email you to get your address if I find you a French version!

Leave a Reply

