How walkable is your neighbourhood?

Mine scores 98 out of 100! Try your on this site. Being able to walk everywhere is essential to me so I wasn’t surprised my neighbourhood scored so well. Picture of my neighbourhood:

walk

My address in suburban Montreal scored only a 43/100. That’s why I tell people that if we hadn’t moved to Toronto we would had definitely moved to downtown Montreal…

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

20 thoughts on “How walkable is your neighbourhood?”

  1. Alexandra, my new neighbourhood got 8 of 100! I’m totally dependable of the car… If I lived in a big city, it would be different, though. Hopefully in the future… ;-)

  2. Awesome! I’ve got 77/100. Which just means I get a wee bit more exercise than you ;-).
    But seriously, I love love love this city and its very livable/walkable neighbourhoods in and around the downtown core.

  3. Bem, entendi o tema mas nao os detalhes, entao vou falar de outra coisa…menina, sabe que eu admiro a sua sensatez e racionalismo. Eu sou tao emocional…penso mais com a emoçao do que com a razao. Isso é exercício ou é natural? ou nao é bem assim?

    beijos

  4. Ours in El Paso got 9/100 which I’m totally not surprised by. It takes 40 minutes just to walk down to the corner store and back!!

  5. Thelma
    That’s too bad! where do you live?

    Jen P.
    I love this city too. I love the fact that although it is the largest city in Canada, each neighbourhood feels like a small city. Like you mention many times on your blog, I’m constantly running into people on the streets, people recognize me at the shops I go to, it’s so great!

    Fernanda
    Eu não sei bem se se aprende – gostaria de pensar que sim – mas sempre tendi mais ao racionalismo do que à emoção mesmo. Bom, dizem que os italianos do norte da Italia são mais alemães do que italianos, então talvez venha daí o meu racionalismo ;) Mas sério mesmo, o importante é tentar não levar as coisas pro lado pessoal. Tudo na vida tem uma explicação e na maioria das vezes não tem nada a ver com vc. Talvez seja por isso que eu me tenha dado bem com os catalães. Eles são bem racionais – talvez seja por causa da menor influencia islamica comparado aos castelhanos – e apesar de eu não concordar com o movimento separatista, por conhecer bem a historia da catalunya, não posso deixar de entender o ponto de vista deles. mas sei que nem todos os catalães são iguais e que se eles viajassem mais, como eu e vc, muitos não teriam as idéias que têm. Eu nunca vou esquecer de uma coisa que meu amigo Pau me disse. Ele e a esposa são catalães, de Vic, e foram passar 8 meses nos EUA. Ela foi estudar lá. Lá ele pode vivenciar o outro lado, como é viver em um país estrangeiro, ser uma minoria. Ele me disse que antes de ir ele sempre tinha defendido a posição da Catalunya para os catalães. Agora, ele defende a Catalunya para todos que vivem na Catalunya. Ele acha que se mais catalães pudessem ter a experiencia que ele teve, eles também seriam mais abertos aos imigrantes.
    Mas esse é um problema na Europa em geral. Eles precisam de imigrantes mas não sabem como aceitá-los. mas essa é outra longa historia! Espero que vc não tenha se importanto com a resposta que coloquei no seu post do outro dia…

    Francisco
    People find this stuff reading other blogs! when they should be working… but let’s not talk about that ;)

  6. Dana
    9/100??? wow, that’s pretty low… I thought I had it bad in Pointe-Claire and I was a 43/100… It just proves that I can’t really live in a suburb…

  7. many cities in north america are like that… “normal” is the suburban lifestyle of street after street of purely residential houses/buildings. One of the things I loved in Spain and in Europe in general is the mix of residential & commercial areas. Every residential building in Spain has stores on the main floor. I think that’s great!

  8. Alexandra,
    Mine is 82, for a small city it’s really good…but this website considers only commercial activities. It does not consider green spaces… I have in my neighbor, just five blocks from here, one of the most beautiful parks we can have in a town, I can go everyday there walk and run, and also to go to the concerts. If one day I live in Toronto the region you live is for me the best, just near Uof T, Robarts Library and so on :-)

  9. Alexandra,
    Meu score foi 92/100.. Mto legal!!!
    Temos tudo perto de casa (que dá para fazer andando), cinema, teatro, supermercado, barzinho e a lista não pára por ai.. Abraços

  10. Well, actually it’s pretty good. I got an 80. Of course most of the time it’s too freaking hot around here to walk anywhere, so I only ever get to shops 5 minutes before they close. lol

    Alexandra, it’s good to see you around too.

Leave a Reply

