Cleaning day

I love organization, I’m good in organizing things, but I’m not a very organized person. Sounds contradictory, huh? But who says I make sense? Anyways, what I mean is that although I’m good in organizing things and I have decent organizational skills, I’m TERRIBLE about keeping anything organized for very long. Alan says it’s because I grew up having maids picking up after me. He might be right. All I know is that it drives me insane. On the one hand I have very high standards when it comes to organization and cleanliness – the result of having a mother obsessed with these things and having grown up in a very spotless house – but on the other hand, I just can’t be bothered to live up to my standards since I hate doing house chores and think nothing of skipping cleaning the house in favour of going out or reading a good book. But that doesn’t mean I accept the house being a mess… so back to being stressed out…

Anyways, this post is not about spending the weekend cleaning the house. This is just a (long) preamble to saying that what holds to the place where I live also holds to the place where I spend a good chunk of my life, mainly, my computer. It’s a mess. My hard drive is full and I’m pretty sure most of it is redundant junk. Yesterday we bought a new external hard drive and the plan is to spend this afternoon following the  advice of Caitlyn Imburgo on tidying your hard drive. I’ve downloaded the AppZapper and  WhatSize applications and hopefully will have made some progress towards cleaning my computer before it’s time to go check out the Taste of the Danforth. The idea is to clean up my hard drive and then make a mirror copy to the external hard drive. We’ll see how it goes…

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

4 thoughts on “Cleaning day”

  1. Hi Alexandra,
    I’m probably worse than you, which makes me feel twice as bad. The paradox is that I do like organisation and cleanliness. But inasmuch as I try, things end up in the wrong place… However, not everything is lost and even my husband knows that ‘there is a method to my madness’. I tend to mess things up in a rather methodical way so I sort of know where to look for lost stuff, for instance. The worse case scenario is when I’m in a real hurry: then I just freak out and hate myself for being this way.

    I hope you don’t mind me butting in like this, we have exchanged a few comments over the past months. I especially liked your comment on one of my posts about nationalism, a rather controversial subject.

    take care and have a great week!

    Cris

  2. Hey Cris!

    I have the same method to my madness, but sometimes it can be VERY frustrating when I can’t find what I’m looking for. Like yesterday, when I was bitten by a bug and was looking for an anti-itch lotion I have. I couldn’t find it anywhere! Still don’t know where it is and my bug bite still itches…

    Of course I don’t mind you butting in! This is not for guests only; it’s open to anyone who knows how to behave on a public forum ;)

Leave a Reply

