Makeover Monday

Let’s see how I did with my goals for last week:

1. Finish letter to the chair of my department regarding a conference I’m helping organize – I finished it last Tuesday, revised it on Thursday, printed it today and tomorrow will be handing it in. So, goal accomplished.

2. Finish entering data from the royal register into my database – Half done. Totally inexcusable. There was definitely enough time to do this, if I had spent less time on internet forums…

3. Drink 8 glasses of water/day – I started well; on the first day I drank 5 glasses and was so impressed by my success that I completely forgot about during the following days. Well, I didn’t actually forget, but my excuse is that ever since I read about the horrors of plastic, I have to find a proper non-plastic bottle to bring water to school. Until then, my motivation to drink while I work in my carrel is in jeopardy…

4. Eat at home at least 5 days/week; eat out only 1-2 times a week – I think it was more a fifty-fifty split last week… Although I did bring lunch to school quite a few times last week.

5. Go to the gym at least 3 times – I went twice, but did some Yoga at home and went cycling on both Saturday and Sunday.

I’ll keep the same goals for next week and see if I improve.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Now it’s your turn. Want to play? Here’s what to do:

1. Choose a goal or several, like me. (It can be a new one each week or something more long-term.)

2. Write a Makeover Monday post to share your goal for the week ahead. State whether or not you accomplished your goal from the previous week. Brag away! If you are working towards a long-term goal, report on your progress.

3. Please leave me a comment so I feel loved.

4. Spread the good karma by visiting other Makeover Monday participants to encourage and congratulate them on their own makeovers.

5. Feel the love coming right back at you!

—————–

Reading more about the subject, I found some other interesting sites about the various kinds of plastic and how to choose safer ones. See here.  Looks like my Britta filters are safe.

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

9 thoughts on “Makeover Monday”

  1. Non-plastic bottle?

    I understand your point…but now… Where the heck am I going to find water that didn´t have any kind of contact with plastic bottles?

    Now you got me! ;^(

    And I always carry a bottle wherever I go…

    About the lists.. I´m a list lover. But right now, I just log out from my basecamp account and I know that tomorrow my beloved list will be waiing for me wit a “bom dia flor do dia”.. ;^)

    Congrats and keep up the good work.

  2. Chico

    Yes, I share your plight. You basically need a small investment to be able to go plastic-free. The suggestion in the article is to adapt a filter to your water tap and use stainless steel water bottles to carry around. Here are two good brands:
    http://www.kleankanteen.com/
    http://www.mysigg.com/

    And a store the commercializes that and more:
    http://www.reusablebags.com/store/

    The bottles are not cheap, but the idea is that they would last forever… I actually like the idea because I always found that plastic bottles left a “taste” in the water that I didn’t really like…

    Dana
    Thanks!! I don’t feel I didn’t do as good a job, though… Need to start working harder… On the flip side, looks like all my tutorials and the lectures for the course I’m TA’ing will be on Tuesdays and Thursdays, which means that if I take one day to prepare for tutorials (I’m being generous here), I could have 3 days to work on my own stuff! Of course, the balance would change when I have assignments to grade… Emily has been in touch with Louise so we could both have two 9 AMs, two 10 AMs, and one 12PM tutorial each (the lecture is at 11 AM). I’m looking forward to that…

  3. Remember too that you will have grading, which, for your first time TAing, will take a lot longer than planned! I usually spent about 3-4 hours preparing for my tutorials in the beginning.

  4. Yes, 3-4 hours is what Janine told me… I’m certainly glad that the first course I TA is actually on something I have a comps field on… If I don’t know something, I can find out quickly through my comps notes ;) And I have VERY detailed notes from the Reformation class I took with Shannon, which was one of the best course I’ve taken…

    I know grading will take a while but what I’m mostly worried about is the skills-teaching part – teaching them how to research, write papers, etc… That’s what I’ve been reading on…

  5. I undertook goal #3 about a month ago (after realizing I could go days without water, and that couldn’t be a good thing). Like you, I resolved I needed a bottle that I could carry around, but didn’t want it to be a plastic bottle. A Nalgene bottle bought at the U of T store ended up completely fixing my problem: it’s convenient, easy to carry, fashionable, I just take it with me everywhere and drink my 2 litres a day without having to think much about it. Now, as for the Nalgene vs. plastic, I haven’t done a thorough research, but surely, nothing can be as bad as plastic?

Leave a Reply

