Dish of the Week

I’m so happy!! I made my first Thai curry from scratch!! AND I more or less made it up!! I wrote before how I like to make things up with instant noodles. Well, today I came home for lunch because my hand was hurting and I couldn’t type. I got home around 1 pm, Alan had already eaten, I was hungry, and all I had that was quick to make was a package of Thai instant noodles and a few Thai ingredients I had bought on the weekend. I wanted to use the rice noodles but not the sauce that came with it. So I started browsing my Big Book of Thai Curries for inspiration. On page 51 I came across something that looked promising. Noodles with Curry Sauce. Gueyteow Gaeng Jay. The sauce required fresh red chillies, large garlic cloves, onions, tomatoes, soy sauce, lime juice, sugar & salt, all of which I had available. But the actual noodles were fresh egg noodles, beansprouts, long beans & coriander leaves. I had none of that. But I had rice noodles, apple eggplant, carrots, and lemmongrass. Surely I could make it with these few alterations! Also, I was making only one portion, so I had to divide the recipe roughly by four. So this is what I came up with:

Noodles with Curry Sauce

Noodles

I made the curry sauce according to the directions in the book, but the rest I came up with… In case anyone is interested, here goes the recipe:

1 pckge instant rice noodles (45g)

1 carrot, grated

3 small apple eggplants, sliced and halved

bit of lemmongrass

Curry Sauce

1 fresh red chilli

1 large garlic

1 small onion

5 cherry tomatoes

1 shallow tbsp soy sauce

1 shallow tbsp lime juice

1 small tsp sugar

bit of salt

1. Make the sauce. Wrap the chillies, garlic, onions and tomatoes together in tin foil. I chopped them roughly. Preheat the broiler for 15 min and place the wrap under the grill until they begin to soften; about 15-20 minutes. Remove from the foil, place it in a blender and bled everything together. Add the soy sauce, lime juice, sugar & salt, stir well, set aside.

2. Add some sesame oil & canola/sunflower oil to a wok

3. Stir-fry the carrots and eggplant for a bit. Mix about a tbps of soy sauce with a tsp of sugar and add to the carrot mixture. Continue to stir-fry until the eggplant has softened, adding a bit of water if necessary. Add the lemmongrass. Once the eggplant is ready, reserve the carrot mixture. Keep the work at hand.

4. Boil rice noodles for 3 mins, strain and set aside.

5. Heat a bit more canola/sunflower oil in the wok. Pour the curry sauce in. Let it sizzle for a few minutes. Add carrot mixture, stir and let it cook for a few minutes more. At last, add the rice noodles, mix it well and once the noodles have throughly warmed through, remove and serve immediately.

It was spicy but VERY good. Even Alan dared to try a bit and to his utter surprise – he hates spicy food – he loved it. He asked me to make it again for dinner and I repeated the recipe. He said it was the first time he had spicy food that had a taste. I was SO happy because that’s the principle behind Thai food – everything needs to be in harmony: the chillis, the tartness of the lime, the sweetness of the sugar and vegetables, the saltiness of the soy sauce and salt. In the end, it was indeed very spicy – our noses were running – but one could taste the subtle flavours behind it all. The carrot and the eggplant made a really great combination. I’m very pleased!

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

3 thoughts on “Dish of the Week”

Leave a Reply

