Melhores do Mundo

This is for my Brazilian friends who might be afraid of losing their Portuguese now that they live abroad…

*Os Melhores do Mundo is a very smart Brazilian comedy troupe that is very popular in Brazil… My brother sent me this today…

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

10 thoughts on “Melhores do Mundo”

  1. Alexandra, estamos pretendendo fazer nossa “estréia” nas telonas canadenses assistindo “Paris, Je t’aime”, mas vamos na terça-feira que é mais barato!
    Íamos assistir em SP mas estava passando justamente na época em que estávamos mais atribulados com os preparativos finais para nossa vinda ao Canadá.
    Bjs

  2. vcs vão assistir aonde? no Carlton estava 9$ o ingresso adulto… achei que eles tinham acabado com a promoção das terças-feiras!

    mas o filme é muito bom!

  3. Olá,
    obrigada pela visita. Quanto à pastinha de documentação, conhecemos 3 outros casais que enviaram em pasta e estão todos no Canadá hoje. rs Acho que o consulado não vê problema em retirar os documentos de dentro da pasta e jogar fora não.

    Um abraço,
    Carol

  4. The video is funny. ;-))

    Alexandra, I´m very connected with portuguese language (it´s not because I´m brazilian.. hehe), and I think it would be impossible for me to forget the rules I´ve learnerd at school (or not), even if I have lived abroad (in France, for example) for many years. I don´t believe in excuses, when someone says “I wrote this, cause I forgot”. My cousine works as a translator and interpreter and I remember her words when I returned to Brasil: “It doesn´t exists this “forget” something, it´s a simple question of reading, and memory. The memory keeps the things you studied. So if you wrote something wrong, there aren´t excuses. It´s muche more better to say: I don´t know, I didn´t read enough.»

    They want to change everything and probably they will use the justificative that we don´t speak like Lima Barreto and Machado de Assis, but if we accept this, it will be dangerous. In 10 years we will speak in english here, or spanish-english, or something irrecognizable. I will not use the new rules. I´ve spent many years to learn and practice my native language. I can make a simple comparison: it´s not the teacher who must follow the student. It´s an ascendant way in my opinion. We have to practice, to read, in every language. ;-00

  5. Alexandra, lembrei de você hoje; fiz um post falando sobre uma coisa que me aconteceu hoje à noite, sobre mais ou menos “serviço de atendimento ao cliente”. Vai lá ver. Bjs ;-))

  6. Gi,

    I’ve always recommended to anybody who wants to learn a language properly to invest as much time as possible in reading it. That’s how I learned English. I first learned it when I was 6 years old and lived in the US for a year, but then I “forgot” it since I had no real contact with the language after I got back to Brazil. When I was 18, a friend of mine who worked as a translator/interpretor told me that I still thought in English and that I should start reading books in English. She gave me the best advice I ever had – she told me to simply read the book from cover to cover. “Don’t stop to look up every word”, she said. She told me to pick an easy romance novel and warned me that I would probably only understand 30% of the first book I read in English. But the second book I would get 40%, then 70%, and so on until I would be able to read it all without a problem. I did what she told me. I tried figuring things about by context, if a word showed up a lot, seemed to be important and I still couldn’t figure out what it meant, I’d look it up in an English dictionary for its meaning in English (not a translation!). But first, I’d just write these words down as I read the book. Not too many of them; just the ones that seem to be everywhere. By the end of the book I’d have a list of 10 words. I also watched movies and talked to myself ;) The exposure to the language “unlocked” my previous knowledge of it, so I agree with you that we never really forget anything.

    I started doing that at age 18. By the time I came to Canada for the first time, 4 years later, I had been reading exclusively in English for at least 3 years and I had absolutely no problem.

    I did the same with spanish. I took a Spanish course for a couple of months before I went to Spain. Once in Spain, I read exclusively in Spanish – I bought novels, read newspapers, joined a book club. After a year, my Spanish friends all tell me that my spanish is better than that of a lot of people who have been living there for 10-15 years… It’s more idiomatic, they tell me. And I think that can come only from reading a lot and not from memorizing verbs and grammatical rules…

    Having said all of that, you can become very rusty even in your own native language if you are not in constant contact with it. I often struggle to find a word in Portuguese and often find myself hesitating when writing since I’m not sure anymore about the proper spelling of a particular word… Of course, that can all be remedied by reading and writing more in Portuguese, unfortunately, I now need to write a thesis in English and learn Hebrew, so Portuguese will have to wait a bit… But reading and commenting on Brazilian blogs, like yours, has certainly improved my Portuguese a great deal!

  7. My cousin says the same thing to me, but I read books in Portuguese and French now; I´m afraid to mix many languages. ;-)) I´ve never read a “difficult book” in English, a romance for example. Just childhood stories. I put pressure on myself to do it. I´ve tried to start Virginia Woolf but til now I don´t know if I didn´t like her style, or if the main reason is the fact that I stopped many times, 10 words per page to understand.. hehe I think I´m going to read my Agatha´s Christie. ;-)) Thank you for the advices.

Leave a Reply

