Premio Blog Solidario

Blog solidarioWow! I didn’t see that coming! Erin, from the blog A wandering woman writes from Spain, has honoured me with the Premio Blog Solidario. While I’m amazed that my blog, which is written in a very idiosyncratic, unfocused, all-over-the-place sort of way, should be mentioned at all for such a thing, that it should come from Erin, one of the smartest bloggers I know and a person I admire deeply, has made it all the more special and honourable to me. I simply love the way Erin gave up her high profile corporate job to pursue her love for a language. She won my endless respect – and that of countless Salmantinos, no doubt – by the way she embraced and cherished Spanish life and culture after moving to Spain. Her kind and generous words about my blog have certainly made my day today!

So now it’s my turn to pass this award on to bloggers I admire. I chose one blog in English and one in Portuguese:

Denise, from Sindrome de Estocolmo, for being one of the most engaged, open-minded, politically conscious, no nonsense persons I know. Her prolific blog has encouraged me to think more clearly and write more in this blog about more serious issues. It has forced me to more deeply engage with the world around me as opposed to simply observe it and babble on to Alan about it. I also love the way she builds bridges across cultures. From Brazil, she moved to Stockholm after marrying her great love, an American who had been living in Sweden for over twenty years. Her accounts of her early days in Sweden was what first attracted me to her site. Her open-mindness and positive attitude in dealing with the cultural gaps she encountered were amazing. She now lives in Washington, DC, and continues to show the same positive attitude.

Landismom, from Bumblebee Sweet Potato, for inspiring me to read more relevant books. I am always amazed at the amount of really good books she goes through. Although mainly a parenting blog, Bumblebee Sweet Potato also shows Landismom tireless social concerns and activism. Like Denise, she inspires me to do more. I deeply admire the way she strives to raise her young children to be well-rounded, engaged and inquisitive young people.

There are many other bloggers I’d like to nominate, like Daniel and Regina,  but I decided to follow Erin’s lead and limit myself to two. Denise and Landismom, feel free to pass this award to up to 7 blogs of your choice!

I’d also like to thank Erin again for introducing me to Tonicito’s blog (I was looking for a good spanish blog!), from which I discovered Jessica’s blog.  The former is from Tarragona but lived all his life in Barcelona, and now tells his adventures living in Austria, while Jessica is an American living in Berlin who dates a Catalan. Her trips to Catalunya and her efforts to learn Catalan are great to follow. As someone who studies Catalan history, I always appreciate someone who approaches Catalan culture with an open mind and positive attitude.

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

3 thoughts on “Premio Blog Solidario”

Leave a Reply

