Busy life

This past week gave me a taste of the pace of this semester. I’ve started my job as a teaching assistant and conducted five tutorials this week, attended the lectures for the course I’m TA’ing, worked at the CRRS, tried to do some work on my thesis, had meetings about the conference I’m helping organize, created the conference’s website (not up yet), co-organized a teaching workshop, and generally ran around doing errands. The week simply flew by! I really enjoyed the teaching, even more than I thought I would, and I’m now feeling more encouraged in planning my own course for the future.

Tonight we’ll be off to Nuit Blanche, dubbed the free all-night contemporary art thing. It starts at 7:03 pm and goes all night. According to the site: “For one sleepless night, experience Toronto transformed by artists. Discover art in galleries, museums and unexpected places. From alleyways and demolition sites to churches and squash courts, explore more than 195 destinations. One night only. All night long.”

The idea is pretty cool. They had it last year and it was a big hit. I’ve been told there was a really neat vibe in the city with people roaming from site to site checking out all of the different venues. I’ve had a nap this afternoon and will try to stay out for as long as possible…

What about you? What are your plans for the weekend?

Update – it was only after I posted this that I realized that the previous post also had “busy” on its title. Oh well, I guess that’s how my life will be qualified for now on… 

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

3 thoughts on “Busy life”

Leave a Reply

