Top 5 AC/DC songs

My brother has challenged me to come up with my top 5 AC/DC songs. Yes, I admit it, I’m a rock n’ roll girl at heart and was known to bang my head in my teenage days. Some favourite bands include not only AC/DC but also Metallica until the Black Album, Black Sabbath, Ozzy Osbourse, Iron Maiden, Motorhead, Ramones, Nirvana, The Donnas, L7, and the like… Alan and I have been to an Iron Maiden concert in Rio and an Ozzy concert in Montreal, and we went to the SARS Concert not to see The Rolling Stones, but rather to check out AC/DC and Rush.

Anyway, here’s my AC/DC list:

5. Stiff Upper Lip (2000)
4. Moneytalks (1990)
3. For Those about to rock (we salute you) (1980)
2. Hells Bells (1980)
1. The Jack (1975)

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

7 thoughts on “Top 5 AC/DC songs”

  1. Tem pouca coisa do Metallica que eu gosto depois do Black Album.
    Geralmente os artistas dos quais eu gosto morrem ou mudam a forma como sempre fizeram musica.
    :(

  2. For the record, I´m the brother and this is my list:

    5. Heatseaker(1987)
    4. Sin City(1978)
    3. Hells Bells(1980)
    2. You Shook me all Night Long(1980)
    1. Highway to Hell(1979)

    At least for the moment! But I swear I´m trying to get a place for other songs like Jailbreak, Thunderstruck, Back In Black…

  3. Your brother’s list is a lot closer to mine, which would be:

    5. T.N.T.
    4. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
    3. Hells Bells
    2. Highway to Hell
    1. Sin City

    Your choices are all good songs except “Stiff Upper Lip,” which I say is go-through-the-motions, paint-by-numbers AC/DC. But that’s just my opinion; reasonable people can disagree.

  4. Steve,

    You might be right; it’s just that I bought the Stiff Upper Lip CD not too long ago and when my brother issued the challenge, I started playing the few AC/DC cds I have and that one was one of the last songs I heard and it was sort of stuck on my head when I wrote the list. And I must find a place for Thunderstruck, which I REALLY love, Back in Black, TNT, You Shook me All night long and all of those… I agree with my brother, we need a second list!

    Jeanne,

    I don’t think there’s anything in post-Black Album Metallica that I like.

Leave a Reply

