Naturopath

My approach to health care has always been based on prevention. I had a few traumatic experiences at the hands of medical practitioners as a child so that led me to try as hard as I can not to get sick so I don’t have place myself in their hands again. So far, it has worked. I had my last serious cold/flu about 8-9 years ago and the last time I took prescription drugs was 4 years ago when I had the beginnings of a stomach ulcer.

One of the keys to maintain proper health, for me, is to pay enough attention to nutrition and to our bodies. I read a lot about how to optimize my diet and the kinds of vitamin and mineral supplements available. As I don’t much believe in synthetic food, I keep my intake of vitamins to a minimum. When I feel the first signs of a cold coming or whenever I come into contact with people afflicted by colds/flus, I bump up my immune system by taking lots of vitamin C and garlic (both in pills and in my food).

Although I have a pretty good handle on these things, I’ve been wanting to visit a good naturopath for a while. I need someone to look critically at my diet and also look holistically at my body. My energy levels are not always great, I have issues with anxiety and digestion. But I didn’t just want to go to my Family Doctor, I wanted to go to someone versed in alternative approaches to health care, chinese medicine, and was well versed on nutrition for optimum health. And I finally found someone!

Dr. Sushma Shah is a graduate of the Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine and “uses various natural therapies such as acupuncture (Traditional and Cosmetic Acupuncture), Traditional Chinese medicine – tongue and pulse diagnosis, herbal medicines (Chinese and Western herbs), homeopathy, diet and lifestyle counseling, nutrition therapy and spinal manipulations to heal the person holistically – body, mind and spirit.’ She was highly recommended by a friend of mine and yesterday I went for my first of three consultations.

We talked for over an hour and a half. At the end, she suspected I might have a food intolerance, which is something I’ve always suspected. So she asked me to have a blood test done that will test my tolerance for 97 different foods. I had that done yesterday and I’m now due back in her office for a full physical and to discuss the result of the blood test in two weeks. I just hope it isn’t something hard to give up, like cheese or eggs….

But just talking to her made me feel better. I got home so inspired that I prepared this amazing meal of mashed potatoes, chicken breast marinated in balsamic vinegar, lemon juice, garlic, onions and herbs, stir-fried broccoli and bok choi, and fennel and tomato salad with fresh basil. I also prepared a tabule made with quinoa for lunch today (it was yummy!). Looking forward to seeing her again in two weeks.
Oh and she also has a blog with some useful tips.

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

2 thoughts on “Naturopath”

  1. No Brasil eu pegava uma gripe atrás da outra mas aqui estou ilesa. Trabalho num basement que é um cubículo e 2 colegas de trabalho pegaram essa gripe fortíssima que está por aí. Eu estou firme e forte vendendo saúde.
    Toronto fez bem para o meu sistema imunológico!
    Bjs

Leave a Reply

