Chicago

I’m leaving on Wednesday for Chicago to present a paper at the Renaissance Society of America conference. I’m looking forward to going since I’ll be meeting many friends that I haven’t seen in a while but for some reason I haven’t really looked into what’s to do and see in Chicago. I assume we’ll be spending a lot of time at the conference itself, which is at the Chicago Renaissance Hotel at the corner of State Street and Wacker Drive, but no doubt we’ll have some time to explore the city a bit.

Any suggestions? any restaurant I *must* go?

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

7 thoughts on “Chicago”

  1. Chicago is one of my favorite cities in the world. While huge, Chicago is one of these amazing cities for walking – very flat. But there is something majestic about that place – maybe it’s the buildings, maybe it’s Lake Michigan, maybe it’s the crazy people. All I can suggest is, take your camera and walk around. As for food I wasn’t there long enough to enjoy a good meal, but Chicago is becoming one of the most important culinary centers in North America.

    Chicago at night, from 36,000 feet

    Have a safe trip! And break a leg!

    Ingrid

  2. Oi Alexandra,
    Chicago é muuuuuuito legal… eu sempre penso que o Harbour Front de Toronto deveria ser como o de Chicago… passeie por lá!
    Ah… restaurante, vá no Fogo de Chão…é o melhor!!! Vai gastar um pouquinho, mas a qualidade é booooooa!!! Uhn… já fiquei com vontade e espero que você não seja vegetariana (risos).
    Aproveite e vá a um show de Blues… eu gostei muito dos “Buddy Guys Legend”, fica perto do Hiton Hotel… é meio escuro, mas se pegar uma mesa legal, tenho certeza que vai se divertir, os caras tocam muito… imagina que até o Eric Clapton ia (ou ainda vai ???) lá tocar quando dava na louca :0).
    Boa conferência!

  3. I recommend Blackbird or 437 Rush (closer to your hotel) — also Volare for Italian (also close). Check out Russian Tea Time, as well, by the Art Institute. Have fun in Chicago!

  4. I’ve always tried to save an afternoon at RSA for sight seeing!! Hopefully the weather will be nice and you’ll be able to walk around. I soooo wanted to go to Chicago (I’ve never been there). :( Ah well, I guess another time!

Leave a Reply

