Aeronaut on its way…

AeronautRemember what I said about one-bag travel? Well, I’m determined to use only one carry on bag on my trip to Europe next month, and to make that possible, I’ve taken the first step: I’ve ordered a soft bag to replace my roller. After months of research, I’ve settled on the Tom Bihn Aeronaut. From everything I read, the bag looks well designed, made of the best material, and is light and well balanced. I’ve also picked up a few packing cubes and the much-praised Absolute Strap. For those of you who have had your luggage misplaced by an airline way too many times, I shall be documenting my packing techniques and how one-bag traveling worked for me. Trust me, once you go carry on, you can never go back to checked luggage.

Update:

I got my Aeronaut today! It’s Friday, April 25th and I’m really impressed with how fast the Tom Bihn folks ship things. The store is in Seattle and depending on when I place my order, I have it on the next day or the day after. Pretty impressive. I really liked the bag. It looks very well made, the parts are really high quality. I’ll place some pictures up when I start packing it.

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

9 thoughts on “Aeronaut on its way…”

  1. I was thinking of trying out that technique on my next trip (which will be to Brazil, finally!), but I have this feeling that I’m not going to make it… I’m pretty sure that my family is going to want me to bring back tons and tons of gifts, clothes etc to Canada with me. Let’s see if this will be a viable option for the ones like myself, who don’t see to be capable of not buying tons of useless souvenirs and assorted junk on their trips.

  2. Silvia,

    It works for me even on trips to Brazil because my family always sends me a list of things they want me to bring from here for them (all sorts of computer gadgets for my brothers and dad, makeup & perfumes for my mom, etc) so on the way back, there’s always room for the stuff I buy there :)

    One time I had a bit too much, so I ended up mailing a package to myself. I’d rather to that on occasion – even if it costs me – that to carry a bigger suitcase.

    It’s actually not that difficult to do it on a trip to Brazil because Air Canada is very generous on its carry on allowance. You can bring 2 bags, with 10kg each, plus a purse. The trick is in Europe where many of the local airlines limit carry one to one single bag.

  3. Yes, I’m aware of that problem in Europe, I had the pleasant experience of having my smaller bag “confiscated” (quase despacharam a danada sem eu ver quando fui comprar algo pra comer) because Swiss Air/Air France had a pretty strict weight limit – I think that I had 10 kg and the max was something around 6 kg. Lesson learned, nowadays I’m pretty careful with this stuff.

    /slightly traumatized

  4. Oi Alê

    pensei que tinha deixado comentário pra esse post…ué…desapareceu!

    eu tinha dito que também prefiro viajar só com uma malinha de mao, porque odeio esperar em filas pra fazer o check-in. e na saída, muito melhor ir embora direto e nao precisar esperar as malas. Legal essa bolsa que vc escolheu.

    Sobre os acentos do mac, o do til nao funcionou, aparece uma bolinha. Vou continuat tentando..ou o til é uma bolinha? acho que nao, né?

    Ah, quando vc vai pra Barcelona?

    beijos

  5. Fernanda,

    Procurei no meu spam do wordpress pra ver se seu comentário ficou preso por lá mas não achei nenhum… só tinha esse último mesmo. Estranho que tenha sumido…

    Eu também destesto filas e adoro poder sair direto, sem ter que esperar bagagem, quando chego a um lugar. Não tem nada melhor!

    Quanto ao acento; muito estranho mesmo…se eu descobrir alguma outra opção te aviso…

    Bjos…

    Jeanne
    Mas eu levo MUITA coisa nas malinhas de mão! Uma vez passei 3 semanas no Brasil e não consegui usar metade do que tinha levado… o segredo está na maneira de fazer a mala :)

  6. Ah, acho que nunca vou atingir esse nível de elevação!!! Hehehe. Acho uma proeza e tanto conseguir fazer uma malinha só para as viagens, ainda mais internacionais. Espero um dia conseguir, mas você poderia dar umas dicas básicas para nós, pobres mortais, sobre o que carrega nas suas malas e que critérios usa para escolher o que levar. Eu guardaria essas dicas para sempre!
    Beijos
    Van

  7. Alê,

    Depois que você usar a mala nova e a correia/alça/whatever, mas vc entendeu, acho, me diz se você gostou?
    Estou pensando em comprar a alça pra carregar a pastinha do meu laptop. Tem dia que carregar tudo na mão não dá. E meu ombro dói só de pensar nas alças super-desconfortáveis que eu tenho aqui…

  8. Fernanda,

    Essa alça parece que é superpoderosa mesmo, viu? Todos os sites que eu li recomendam e muito comprar a tal da alça… assim que eu carregar algum peso com ela, eu te aviso sim…

    Eu entendo o seu problema… apesar de viajar light eu ainda não aprendi a ir pra faculdade sem carregar um mundo de coisa. Eu me sinto uma mula! Mas o laptop vai sempre na mochila… não dou certo com as tais pastinhas…

Leave a Reply

