Green earth organics

If there is one thing I believe in, it is that you are what you eat. Diet and health are intimately connected and many of our ailments can be linked to poor eating habits. I read a lot about nutrition and food in general, and have slowly moved away over the year from industrialized processed foods to making many things at home and favouring fresh, local products. Heck, I even make my own granola. So, needless to say, I devoured Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma and have to say that much of what he said came as no surprise to me. I don’t like shopping in huge supermarkets like Loblaws or Costco and get most of my food from small local shops – I get fruits & veggies from a local Italian market on my street or an organic shop at Kensington, meats at Cumbrae’s, cheese and the cheese shop, and bread at the bakery (where else?). But while I like to cook and value my diet, I’m often so busy that I often forget to go shopping and end up not having enough food at home and giving in to the lure of local restaurants. Alan and I end up eating out too often for our own good (physical and monetary).

In order to force me to eat at home and ensure I eat a variety of good foods, I have decided to sign up for an organic fruits & vegetable delivery program. I chose Green Earth Organics. There are several to choose from in Toronto and the concept is quite simple – you pick the size of the box and they deliver it to you once a week. Some companies allow you to substitute some of the ingredients in the box (mine allows four substitutions), others are less flexible. The produce varies according to the seasons and what’s available at the moment. The box I chose is all organic with an emphasis on local produce. Tomorrow is the first delivery and I’ll let you know what it looks like. This is what they promised for this week:

April 28-May 2

  • ON Chives
  • .5lb ON Baby Bok Choy
  • 1lb BC Russet Potatoes
  • ON Baby Bella Mushrooms
  • Zucchini
  • Arugula
  • .25lb ON Spinach
  • BC Tomato
  • 3 BC Fuji Apples
  • 3 Valencia Oranges
  • Mango
  • 1.5lb Fair Trade Bananas
  • Can’t wait! I’ll definitely have to try the salad recipe on their website:

    Mango & Arugula salad with creamy chive dressing

    Makes 6 servings.
    1 large Mango (you also can sub tomato)
    2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice, divided
    6 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
    1 1/2 tablespoons whipping cream [I’ll substitute plain yogurt]
    1/3 cup finely chopped fresh chives
    12 cups (loosely packed) arugula (about 6 ounces)
    Peel and thinly slice Mango. Place mango slices in large bowl. Add 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice; toss. Whisk 1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice and olive oil in small bowl. Whisk in cream, then chives. Season with salt and pepper. Add arugula to bowl with mango. Add dressing and toss. Season with more salt and pepper, if desired, and serve.

    Author: guerson

    Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

    3 thoughts on “Green earth organics”

    1. Bobby and I used to get Green Earth Organics all the time!! We usually stopped for the winter months though as the boxes tended not to be all that great. But for the Spring-Summer-Fall, they were awesome! I wish there was this kind of service in El Paso.

    2. Jeanne,

      Como assim não precisa cozinhar? São só verduras e legumes crus… Vc talvez não precise fazer muitas compras, mas cozinhar… ;)

      bjs

    Leave a Reply

    