Giving in…

We’ve lived without a TV for the past 17 months without a problem. It wasn’t a major sacrifice – we perhaps watched only about 4-5 hours of TV/week. I did miss watching the news and the odd documentary  and have tried to keep up by watching videos on the internet. Unfortunately, internet tv is not quite up there yet in quality and after missing the Wimbledon final and with the Olympics just around the corner (yes, I do like to watch international level sports), we finally gave in and bought a tv set. I won’t be subscribing to cable or satellite service though – the channels we get through the open cable seem good enough and the plan is to get free over-the-air HD channels buying a simple antenna.

The only downside is not being able to say we don’t have a TV anymore. The expression on people’s face was priceless ;)

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

8 thoughts on “Giving in…”

  1. I know what you mean! Well, I have a tv (should really use the plural form of the noun though). My husband, for reasons that only a look at his childhood can explain, has this thing for tvs. We have quite a few.

    I remember about 15 years ago when a friend came over and needed to warm up the baby bottle. I didn’t have a microwave. Oh she was ever surprised! :)

  2. You know, I can definitely live without a microwave. I use it very seldom. I even keep it unplugged.

    Internet is definitely a priority for Alan and I and with internet, we would give up TV and telephone. Actually, I believe that’s actually the future – we will watch TV and talk to people through the internet. TVs will be nothing more than giant computer monitors connected to the internet. That’s what it should be anyway.

  3. What I’d give up is cellular phones. I simply dislike them, and even more people who wear those things on their ears all the time! I do have a cel phone though, my excuse is that I have kids and whenever I am awy (school, ect) from them I need a way to be contacted in case of an emergency. How did my parents raised 3 kids without it!? LOL Apparently, it can be done. ;)

  4. I never used to watch much TV but Bobby is a TV junkie and so since I’ve been with him, I watch it. I even caved this past year when I was pregnant and allowed him to move a TV into our bedroom. I rarely watch it there, but we have it.

  5. Sei exatamente como é… vivemos sem TV três anos, quer dizer, sem antena, e eu adorava dizer que não tinha TV. Mas daí por conta de uma obra descobriram onde estava a antena coletiva no nosso apartamento e agora nós temos os canais de TV aberta. Mesmo assim não assistimos nunca, mas é bom ter para acompanhar as olimpíadas, por exemplo.

    Beijos,

    K.

Leave a Reply

