Mercer Report

If you are a Canadian student, I urge you to check out Rick Mercer’s rant from yesterday’s (Oct 7th) show. I couldn’t put the video here, but you’ll find the link on the right hand corner of Rick’s site. Just look for the episode from Oct 7th – it’s the one labelled Rick’s Rant.

Basically, he addresses the lack on engagement among Canadian students, which is evident by the silence, on the part of all candidates in this election, on anything to do with education.

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

3 thoughts on “Mercer Report”

  1. That’s true, at least in my experience. Even in my Canadian Political History class most students seem not to care about what’s going on in their country. A lot of people that I’ve talked to don’t vote, either because they think that just one vote won’t make a difference or because they’re not terribly interested in the subject. I’ve been incentiving my boyfriend to start voting and discussing the topic, he was one of those who felt like his vote didn’t matter either and the candidates that he “likes” wouldn’t stand a chance. My thinking is that you always try to vote in whoever represents your beliefs best, at the very least you’ll be showing the more people care about the causes you support. I maintain that policy unless I’m trying to help blocking someone I really don’t want to be in power, which would be the case with Harper… but that’s another story.

    I know that you see the youth act disengaged like this in other countries, but my fellow Canadians seem to be specially jaded/uninterested when it comes to politics… This may have something to do with the fact that I’m in a college rather than an university here in Canada, it’s a different mindset. I guess that most people only start caring about politics when they have to stand on their own two feet in life and finally realize that they actually have to participate if they want to see their interests represented.

  2. For the most part, I would say the same is true for the U.S., except for this election. I’m amazed at how engaged the students are here, even though Texas is definitely going to go Republican and their votes are throw-aways. During the Democratic primary, students were really into it and went out to vote in record numbers. Hopefully the same thing is true for the actual election.

Leave a Reply

