Food

Traveling, for me, means trying different foods. Most of my research and preparation before a trip is focused on learning about local foods, restaurants, markets and my main memory about a place is always related to its food. The same applies to my childhood memories. If you are like me, you’ll enjoy Time’s photographic series on what the world eats. It’s pretty cool.

My favourite foods/cuisines are always changing but during this past summer I was into an Italian/Mediterranean kick eating lots of tomatoes, basil and bocconcini. That was mostly because of the availability of amazing produce and a couple of inspiring meals at a Sicilian friend’s place near Barcelona last June. Last winter I was into thai and Indian food – lots of freshly made curries of all kinds. I’ll probably continue that trend once the weather cools down.

What about you? What kinds of food are you into at the moment?

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

4 thoughts on “Food”

  1. Oh yes, I often stir fry aspargus with balsamic vinegar. Roasted vegetables are on my list of favourite foods. There’s something about the enhanced flavours of roasted vegetables that really inspires me.

  2. I haven´t been eating anything too exciting or exotic lately. Mainly lots of fruit and salads, healthy stuff.

    In terms of traveling, last Jan/Feb we went to Hong Kong and Thailand and in Thailand we had a dream holiday, mainly regarding food. Thailand is a top destination for gourmet travelers!! No wonder.

  3. We’ve been pretty boring with our food lately. We’re still trying to figure out healthy, yummy quick dinners since Piper was born. I did just get some really nice steaks on sale, so perhaps we’ll do something interesting with them!

Leave a Reply

