Kiva on the news

I started lending money on Kiva two years ago. I didn’t have much money so I limited my loan to $100, which I split among four different loans. These have since been paid back, and I have re-invested the money, which have been paid back and re-invested once more. In the past two years that $100 has helped 10 different individuals or groups. I tend to favour women when I choose someone to lend to and so far have lend money to women in Togo, Samoa, Nicaragua, Indonesia, Uganda, Pakistan, and Lebanon.

The Toronto Star had an interview with one of the creators of Kiva this past week and I wanted to post it here to help spread the word about this great initiative. Check it out here.

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

4 thoughts on “Kiva on the news”

  1. Inspired by you, I made two loans of $25 as birthday presents for my goddess-son last year. One was repaid and I reinvested, one defaulted. But I love the idea and have continued to invest as gifts for various friends. I think it’s a wonderful idea!

  2. Oi Alexandra, obrigada por falar disso aqui. Eu nao conhecia o projeto mas me animei a participar.

    BTW – fui ver as suas fotos no Flickr e fiquei encantada, as comidas sao incriveis. Eu tambem tiro foto de comida, especialmente quando viajo. Quero lembrar dos sabores e ve-los de novo…hehehe.

  3. I’m glad the word is spreading!

    I think Kiva is a great idea. I once read the blogs of two young economics students who went to Africa to visit some of the local microfinancing companies and see how the money gets distributed and used by local communities. It was really enlightening. I’ll look for the link for that and put it here.

    Dana, I find it particularly interesting to see that 77% of the people getting loans are women.

    Carla, que bom que vc se animou a participar! Eu acho que custa muito pouco e ajuda uma família a sair da pobreza. Quanto as comidas, pois é, adoro ;)

  4. Wow! That’s a fantastic initiative. Now, everybody, everywhere, can make a difference. I’m almost ashamed I didn’t heard of them before. Thanks for sharing the news!
    And also a good conversation subject too. I spent literally the entire night following the trend about the vietnamese bear farm and the peruvian guinea pigs. Lots of philosophical questions to discuss…

Leave a Reply

