Indulgence

I have heard many admit that they don’t have the energy (or the confidence) to cook themselves a meal they could find in a fine (often fancy) restaurant. They may do it for guests but not for themselves unless it is a special occasion. My problem is that I’m too impatient. I can’t wait until a special occasion presents itself to make something a little bit more elaborate for dinner. Sometimes it isn’t even that elaborate but it’s just something that you may eat at a French restaurant but not something you’d consider attempting. The truth is that I like nice food but as a graduate student, can’t really afford to eat at really nice places. So I’m left to trying to make it myself.

Tonight’s meal was inspired by some wild leeks I found at the market. At the fishmonger’s I came across some wild scallops and bought them without really knowing how I’d make them. Once I got home, a quick search at The Google got me some tasty suggestions: Wild Leek and Parsley Risotto and Pan-seared Scallops with Butter Herb sauce. The ingredients were simple enough and I had most of them at hand: scallops, parsley, a good white wine, vegetable stock, unsalted butter… The result?

scallops.jpg

The picture was terribly over-exposed but you get the idea. It was simply divine. Alan moaned throughout the meal and we speculated that something like this would probably cost about a hundred dollars for the two of us (with wine) at a nice restaurant. Oh, the wine was a nice Wolf Blass Sauvignon Blanc. Now we’re off for an ice cream…

Author: guerson

Historian. Teacher. Knitter. Passionate for bringing people together and building bridges.

2 thoughts on “Indulgence”

  1. I agree with yoy:People are lazy concerned to coooking.Cooking is fun and I hate frozen food.I enjoy veggies whereas Americans are not into them.I am very glad my mom has taught me to enjoy vegetables and cooking as well.
    Claudia,cearense in Texas

  2. Hi Claudia,

    The North American diet based on processed food, meats and dairy is definitely the worst but I think people like Michael Pollan, Mark Bittman, Ann Cooper, and the success of Food Network, are starting to have an impact.

    The problem is the US and to some degree here in Canada as well as that multinational corporations have taken over the food industry and have used marketing in a very clever way to convince people that is better and safer for them. Why eat fruits or whole grains if you can simply eat boxed cereal fortified with 21 essential vitamins? With time, people lost the ability to cook simple foods. But I think things are slowly changing. The hard part is to try to convince people that paying a $1 for a burger is NOT a good deal and that cooking and eating whole foods is not necessarily more expensive.

    Take a look at:
    http://roomfordebate.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/05/15/food-safety-for-people-who-dont-cook/

Leave a Reply

