Packing the Aeronaut

As promised, here are some shots of how I packed my Tom Bihn Aeronaut for my one-month trip to Europe (1 night in Paris, about 25 days in Barcelona, 3 nights in Segovia, 1 night in Madrid). Before you all commend me for doing what seems impossible, let me just say that I’m not following the rules for traveling light as closely as I probably should. Most packing lists for clothes list about 4 bottoms and about 5-8 tops. I have way more, here’s a list of the clothes I’m bringing:Aeronaut

  • 2 skirts (I intend to buy another one there)
  • 1 dress
  • 2 pairs cropped pants
  • 1 pair casual pants
  • cropped yoga pants
  • about 14 tops (!) which includes 2 long-sleeves t-shirts, 2 short-sleeves shirts, 2 polo shirts, 3 t-shirts, 4 sleeveless tops, 1 sweater.
  • 1 bikini
  • assorted underwear and socks
  • 4 pairs of shoes (that breaks all the rules of traveling light) – 1 pair of Teva sandals, 1 pair of sporty Keen hiking sandals, 1 pair flip flops, 1 pair converse shoes

All of that fit very loosely in my Aeronaut. I used two large packing cubes and put all the tops in one and all the bottoms (except bulkier pants) plus underwear in the other. This is how I packed:

Folded pants

Packing Cubes

Cubes in

Folded

Shoes

shoes 2

ready!

You might wonder where cameras, laptop, toiletries and other gizmos have gone. Since I am flying only on Air Canada, I’ve decided to bring a second smaller bag. It’s a Kipling briefcase, which will be very nice to have when I’m at the conference in Segovia. In it I’ll put my little 12″ Powerbook (the bag has a special computer sleeve), my Canon Powershot A650 with assorted cables and battery charger, small toiletry bag, and a couple of folders with papers I need for the conference. My travel hair dryer will go in Alan’s bag. I’ll take a picture of his system tomorrow. So, in short, I’m bringing way too many clothes and shoes while still keeping within the carry-on limits. There will be plenty of room in Alan’s suitcase for us to bring a few gifts to friends as well as for whatever we wish to bring back. But since we don’t have much money at the moment, not having room to bring stuff back is actually a good thing…

Update

We are now in Barcelona after our one day and one night in Paris. I have to say I am very happy with my new Aeronaut. Although it looks slightly bigger than our usual carry-on suitcase with wheels, we weighed both bags at the airport (Alan still used our old system for this trip) and my Aeronaut was exactly 10 kg (22 lb) – I told you I’m bringing too many clothes! – while Alan’s was more like 12-13kg. I know his bag doesn’t technically pass the weight limit for carry-on bags, but never, in all our years traveling on Air Canada, we have seen them weigh carry-on bags. Since we check-in at the electronic kiosks, we only see the agents at the gate. But it can definitely happen on internal European flights, so be prepared for that. We have opted for the trains for our trips within Europe, so not much worry there.

I found the Aeronaut, even at 10 kg, very easy to carry on my back and it made navigating the ups and downs of the Parisian subway system a breeze. Alan grumbled every time he had to stop and pick up his suitcase to carry it up and down. He said he’ll be switching too after this trip.

Author: guerson

Food-obsessed historian and knitter.

26 thoughts on “Packing the Aeronaut”

  1. tem algum espaço sim pois estamos levando umas lembrancinhas para os amigos. mas eu não sou muito de fazer compras quando viajo… Eu gasto mais dinheiro em alimentação mesmo e muito pouco em compras. Os únicos souvenirs que compro para amigos são cartões postais.

    tem só duas coisas que eu estou sim planejando comprar: um novo par de sapatos Camper e uma saia. Eu estou guardando espaço pra ambas as coisaas. Mas eu não me preocupo muito com isso não… o que não couber na mala, vai pelo correio… ;)

  2. this is a great apparel i love it! i used to travel a lot. and the main thing you should do before leaving is packing things, this must be done right in order for you to have good outing. packing things is tiresome and it must not be heavy. so the only thing to is to have a good bag to pack your things.

  3. It is great that you have packed your bags in such an efficient way. Good work. Yesterday I packed my bag and it was so difficult to get everything inside. That is a real art. I can learn lot from you.

  4. Thanks for sharing. Question for you: Did you use packing cubes or the bundling method for your clothes? It looks like the cubes were used but wanted to make sure it wasn’t something that came with the aeronaut. Which kind if it was cubes?

  5. Rogelio,

    I used a combination of the two. As you can see in the pictures, I did use packing cubes – two large cubes designed specifically for the aeronaut. I put all the bottoms (pants, shorts, skirts) in one and all the tops (shirts, t-shirts, tops) in the other. I used the rolling method to pack the tops into the cube.

    I hope this answers your question…

  6. Thanks Very much. I am considering the Aeronaut or the Red Oxx Air Boss, with the deciding factor being IF the Aeronaut is too big for Air Canada and Westjet as the primary Carry On. The Aeronaut measures 22″ and bot AC and WJ have their Carry On restrictions set at 21.5″ I didn’t know how the Aeronaut would fare under real world Canadian airline conditions and if that mere half inch would be a problem. Helped me decide.

  7. Thanks so much for posting your experience with this bag. No offense to the guys out there who have reviewed this bag on other sites, but I was hoping to see what a fellow woman thought of this bag, and more particularly, assess opinions based on packing a similar amount of clothes / shoes as I would do. I hadn’t seen much detail until now about how many of a certain type of item one could fit in this bag.

    Anyway, I’m planning to go on a 10-day trip to Europe in November (half in Barcelona, half in Prague) and was wanting to take the opportunity to optimize my luggage situation. My current setup is a high quality carry-on by Atlantic. I am generally happy with it. The problem is that it doesn’t always pass the size limit for carry-ons, and is a LOT heavier than the Aeronaut. I would like to avoid paying surcharges for checked luggage, and overweight bags. I have a history of overpacking…I also am concerned about maneuverability on trains, buses, etc. I’m very excited about the potential for this Aeronaut bag and like that it’s U.S. made. Thanks again for sharing your experience in such a detailed, helpful manner.

  8. Hi Leslie,

    The aeronaut was great. That trip was for actually a one-month trip and we took many trains while we were there; it was a great boon to be able to go through turnstiles easily. Your challenge in November will be the weather; warmer clothes will take more room. But it can definitely be done. Don’t overpack – leave some room for some shopping. Barcelona has amazing shopping ;)

    I’m glad the review was useful…

    Alex

  9. Hi Alex-

    This was an awesome review of the Aeronaut. I loved your packing methods, too. I’m definitely going to buy one for myself now.

    One question — from the pictures I can’t quite tell the color of your Aeronaut. Is it grey or black?

    Thanks again!

    -Matthew

  10. wow, I feel responsible now ;) I hope you like your aeronaut as much as I love mine. Be sure to stop by and let us know how your liked it after your trip!

  11. I appreciate the snow!!! Merry Christmas to you!! well for another ten minutes. only 364 days or so left till it starts again.

  12. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same
    niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on.

    You have done a wonderful job!

  13. This type of lingerie shapes, tones, smoothes and sometimes even lifts the
    problem areas in the body. The premise behind using professional grade equipment is that the exercises performed will be more effective.
    These activities work to strengthen muscles, rebuild endurance, regain proper circulation, and respiration.

  14. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get three emails with the same comment.

    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Bless you!

  15. Heya i will be with the key period here. I found that aboard i think it is definitely helpful & that helped me out and about a whole lot.. gmat I’m hoping to provide a thing again in addition to enable other individuals just like you aided everyone.

Leave a comment