Challenge of the week

Last week Alan and I ended up eating out a lot, which is not good for either our wallets or our health so this week our challenge is to only eat food we prepare ourselves. Although I love to cook, that’s primarily because I love to eat and try new things so getting me to eat out is not a very difficult feat. Like anybody else, I don’t always feel like cooking when I get home at the end of a long day so when Alan turns to me and says “do you want to go to The Bowl?” I can’t really say no. The danger lies in allowing that to become a habit and before you know, you haven’t cooked for days and have actually forgotten how wholesome a homecooked meal made from the freshest ingredients can actually be. So this week is an attempt to reset the system and get back to eating at home most of the time rather than occasionally.

Having said all of that, I have to say the week didn’t start all that well since I wasn’t all that inspired when I went to the market on saturday and ended up not buying much. That has meant a few trips to the local stores and a lot of creativity with leftovers.

Quinoa TaboulehFor today I made a meal out of the quinoa tabouleh I made on the weekend by adding some lima beans to it. I was going to add some tuna but forgot to buy them… For dinner I’m having a bit of the leftovers, some hummus, and some kefir for dessert.

For tomorrow, I’m thinking of using some of the radish salsa I made on the weekend as the basic seasoning for a rice and chickpea salad. I’m cooking some brown short grain rice and I’ll mix it with a can or chickpeas and the radish salsa (I have nearly 2 cups of it left). That should take care of lunch tomorrow and the next day at the least.

I’ll update this post as the week progresses in case anyone is interested.

——

By the way, I’ve been thinking about creating a blog dedicated exclusively to food and food-related issues. I’m not sure yet. I’ve also decided to move this blog to a self-hosted space, which will give me more flexibility. We’ll see…

Author: guerson

Born and raised in Brazil, a Canadian stole my heart and took me to Canada in 1999. After seven years between Montreal and Toronto, we then moved to Barcelona, Spain, where I did research for my PhD thesis. This blog began as a chronicle of our adventures while living in Barcelona and exploring the old world and has acquired a life of its own after we moved back to Canada.

1 thought on “Challenge of the week”

Leave a Reply

